Be among the first to explore Bristol Old Vic’s multi-million-pound redevelopment before it opens fully to the public. Sneak a peek into the brand new, fully accessible foyer with its floor to ceiling glass windows, hear about the design from the Project Team themselves, and glimpse some of what’s been uncovered of the theatre’s 252-year history in specially curated tours.
Due to the ongoing site activity, we are no longer able to offer a preview of the nearly completed Studio Theatre or Coopers’ Hall, as mentioned in the Bristol Open Doors brochure.
Please note that tours have limited capacity and places will be allocated on a first come, first served basis.
Design of the auditorium was by James Saunders and based, with some variations, on that of the Theatre Royal in Drury Lane. Coopers’ Hall, which was until 2016 the foyer to the theatre, was built in 1744 for the Coopers’ Company, by architect William Halfpenny. The recent auditorium renovation was undertaken by Andrzej Blonski architects and the current front of house redevelopment work (new glass-fronted foyer on King Street, restored Coopers’ Hall and new Studio theatre) is being undertaken by Haworth Tompkins architects, with consultation from theatre and acoustics consultancy Charcoal Blue.