OPEN SITE & DEMONSTRATIONS
Since the creation of the Floating Harbour in 1809, Underfall Yard has been crucial to its operation.
While the history of the yard and the development of the Harbour can be investigated in the visitor centre, a lesser-known jewel in the yard’s crown is its ‘time capsule’ Victorian workshop. Still at the heart of Bristol City Council’s dock maintenance efforts, the unique and evocative collection of 1880s forges, machines and the line shafting that drives them are once again operational.
For Victorian Workshop Tours please book here.
Underfall Yard Open House
Drop in and look around any time during the opening hours.